Handprint Snowmen Ornaments

We’ve finished and mailed all of our ornaments for the ornament swap.  I think they turned out really cute, in fact we made extras for the grandparents (none of whom read this blog, so I can post about them now).

We started with plain ball ornaments.  Since they need to travel through the mail and little children frequently visit our house we went with plastic.  The only smallish plastic ones in our local store had this sort of holographic plastic wrap stuff on them which Henry really likes because it’s sparkly.  I think the paint would have adhered a little bit better if they’d had a mat or frosted finish though. 

First we painted Henry’s fingers and the top part of the palm of his hand with white acrylic craft paint, they become the four snowman on the ornament.  He did this part by himself after we did the first one.

Next I had him hold his hand palm up and I placed the ornament in his hand. Henry squeezed the ball tight and then let go as I held on to the top hook of the ornament (sorry for the blurry picture):

Cute little hand-print snowmen:

After we finished with all the hand-prints, I sat down with some paint pens and drew on the faces, arms, buttons, scarves, and hats.

After they were dry I took them outside and sprayed them with a clear sealant.

We also made matching Christmas card/gift tags using a white stamp pad and embossing powder instead of acrylic paint. On most of the cards we used markers instead of paint pens and so Henry could do a lot of the drawing faces and accessories on those.

28 Comments

Filed under Art Projects

28 responses to “Handprint Snowmen Ornaments

  1. That is *so* cute!! Do you mind if I use it on The Crafty Crow?

  2. Misty

    Came over from Crafty Crow. My daughter did this last year in preschool and I love it! I wanted to make some more with my other daughters. They included a cute little poem about your hands growing but of course, the tag got torn off so it is in a box somewhere or I would include it here!

  3. that is adorable — I have 4 kids — each kid could be a snowman and we could make them to give to family — a next year idea! Thanks for sharing!

  4. I love these. My daughter just came home from preschool with this ornament as a gift for me! I was wondering how to make them. Fun.

  5. ooh, I am so saving this to do with my preschool class next year! I wish I had time to do it this week!
    Thanks for sharing!

  6. CC

    adorable! I’m saving this idea for next year!

  7. My mom keeps asking me to make her an ornament from the kids and now I have the perfect ornament! Thanks for the fabulous idea!!

  8. Liz

    Very cute. I’ve got to remember this one for next year!

  9. Pingback: Easy Christmas Handprint Crafts | Craft Jr.

  10. Sally Ghanim

    Love the idea! Finally a kid craft that actually looks good on the tree.

  11. Arlene Montoya

    i have used this for chrismas gift to parents with my pre-schoolers

  12. Wow. This is awesome! I’m going to make these with my kindergarteners for sure!

  13. Pingback: Links from the newsletter « Fayette Mops

  14. This is SO clever! I can’t wait to try this with my little ones. Thanks a bunch for the great photo tutorial.

    I hope you don’t mind that I shared it with my readers at B.Inspired Mama. :)

    http://binspiredmama.blogspot.com/2009/12/kids-craft-clever-handprint-holiday.html

  15. Patricia

    Hi there! Love these ornaments! A few questionsthough, what kind of sealant did you use and what kind of paint pens? I tried sharpies and they are not really working all too well

  16. So cute! Just made a bunch today for grandparents. Thanks for the idea!

  17. christmas time is coming again and i would be sending christmas cards to many of my friends“;

  18. we will be buying more christmas ornaments these christmas because we like to decorate more ~.,

  19. Debo

    Where did you buy the blue ornaments?

  20. Elaine

    Here is the poem I used for the ornaments we made.

    These aren’t just five snowmen
    As anyone can see.
    I made them with my hand
    Which is a part of me.
    Now each year
    When you trim the tree
    You’ll look back and recall
    Christmas 2011
    When my hand was just this small!

  21. Victoria

    how long does it take to make each one?

  22. Dawn

    Thank you so much for the idea we are in the proces of finishing about 34 of them for Grandparents (set of 4 one for each kid), for special teachers and friends.

    We bought our ball ornaments at Kmart the ones that were frosted worked betters than the shiney ones, although the shiny ones worked fine. My husband is a painter so we used his Acrylic white paint and for the handprint and then I bought acrylic paint for the rest of them. My older 2 kids helped in painting theirs and for the younger 2 (age 4 yrs & 16 months) my husband and I painted them.

    Was a fairly quick project, we started last nigth and I only have 9 left to decorate.

  23. Pingback: Traditions-the stuff we remember

  24. Pingback: Off the needles, on the tree « Domestic Wormhole

  25. I like this web site very much so much great information. “Tell me who admires you and loves you, and I will tell you who you are.” by Charles Augustin Sainte-Beauve.

Leave a Reply

